top of page

2023 - 2024 Officers

Chair: Dr. Saptarshi Mukherjee

Saptarshi received the B.Tech. degree in Electronics and Communication Engineering from the National Institute of Technology, Durgapur, India, in 2013, and the Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI, USA, in 2018. He is currently working as an Applied Electromagnetics Research Scientist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. Saptarshi's research interests include high-power radio-frequency devices, electromagnetic imaging and microwave nondestructive testing of composites and additively manufactured materials. Saptarshi has authored 1 patent and over 40 technical papers and is currently serving in the organizing committee of ASNT Research Symposium. He has also served as a session chair for four international conferences and a reviewer of overall 18 scientific journals. He received the National Science Foundation International Research Fellowship in 2015, ASNT Graduate Fellowship award in 2017 and the ASNT Travel Grant Fellowship award in 2018.

Vice Chair: Steven Saavedra

Steven Saavedra is a Radiographer and Non-Destructive Evaluation Technologist for the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory where his main focus is Computed Tomography. Steven is a Level II in RT, PT, and VT, and a level one with formal level II training in the methods ET, UT, MT, MSLT, PCMT, and BT. He received his NDT training from the Ocean Corporation in Houston TX, and Leak Testing Specialists in Orlando FL. Outside of NDT Steven plays traditional jazz with various different artists, and frequently performs at jazz festivals throughout the state of California.

Connect with Steven on LinkedIn

Treasurer: Dave Arms

Dave began his career in NDT in 1985 working for a major airline in the SF Bay area as an NDT inspector, instructor and engineer. He holds ASNT Level III certification in MT, PT, VT, RT, UT and ET. He currently is Chief Inspector for Level III NDT, a FAA certified repair station located in Hayward. Formerly he held the positions of Secretary and Vice Chairman for your Golden Gate chapter. Dave is a licensed aircraft mechanic and private pilot. Dave is the Sales Manager for QC NDT Equipment.


Section Secretary: Evan Carruth

Board Of Directors

Dr. Portia Banerjee (Director at Large)

Dr. Portia Banerjee is a research engineer working with KBR at the Diagnostics and Prognostics group of NASA Ames Research Center, CA.  She earned her Bachelors of Technology degree in Electronics and Communications Engineering from National Institute of Technology Durgapur, India and her Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Michigan State University, USA. She has been associated with nondestructive evaluation and prognostics research in automotive, avionics and energy system applications for over six years and is currently working on integrated health monitoring and risk assessment of unmanned aviation systems and rover testbeds. She is a member of the ASNT, AIAA, IEEE and PHM societies, Executive Committee member of ASME NDE Diagnosis and Prognosis Division and has served as a reviewer and review manager for several past conferences and journals.

Connect with Portia on LinkedIn!

Edward Kroon (Director at Large)

Edward Kroon is working as a Structural Steel and Nondestructive Testing Inspector for Consolidated Engineering Laboratories and has been teaching part time beginning in late 2008. He has taught Welding, Ultrasonics, Dye Penetrant and Magnetic Particle at American River College, The Technical Engineers Apprenticeship Program and for his current employer.

Graham Thomas (Director at Large)

Graham has been a member of ASNT for over 40 years. He has been active in ASNT at the local section level, the national level and the international level. He retired from Sandia National Laboratory and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, where he was involved with NDE research and development.

bottom of page